Skip to Main Content

By continuing to access our website, you agree to our privacy policy and use of cookies.

Our Team Shares a Single Goal: Keep Kids Healthy

Our team of fundraising and nonprofit professionals is eager to help you discover ways you can join us in transforming children’s health. Connect with us, and we’ll help you find a giving option that works for you.

Our Team hero

Jump Ahead On This Page

Our Leadership Team

Team Elkas 600

Elizabeth A. Elkas

President and CEO

Elizabeth A. Elkas joined Riley Children’s Foundation as President and CEO in 2019. She is a well-respected fundraising leader who is committed to developing trusting relationships with donors and helping them achieve their philanthropic goals.

Liz’s fundraising career began at the Indiana University Foundation in 1985. In 1987 she was recruited to help build the nascent fundraising program at IU School of Medicine, the largest medical school in the United States. Over three decades she led the school through multiple comprehensive campaigns and other fundraising initiatives that raised more than $1.5 billion, making it the most successful fundraising program at Indiana University.

Liz is an alumna of Bucknell University with a BA in English and Fine Arts and went on to earn a Master of Fine Arts from Indiana University. She and her husband, Dave, live in Bloomington, Indiana. They have two grown children.

Meghan Miller

Chief Operating Officer

Karen Spataro

Chief Campaign Strategy and Communications Officer

Bill Hale

Vice President, People

BJ Cripe

Vice President, Finance

Cara Lathrop

Vice President, Community Giving and Interim Vice President, Leadership Giving

Alane Helmer

Vice President, Corporate and Foundation Giving

Meghan Freeman

Assistant Vice President, Marketing and Communications

Kate Sarlitto

Manager, Executive Office

Our Board

Riley Children’s Foundation is grateful for the visionary leadership of the philanthropic community members and business leaders who constitute our Board of Governors.

Vgz Tzy8j

J. Murray Clark

Board Chair

J. Murray Clark joined the Riley Children’s Foundation Board of Governors in 2015 and was elected chair in 2020. He is a partner in the Indianapolis office of the law firm of Faegre Drinker Biddle & Reath and previously served as an Indiana State Senator. Clark received his bachelor’s degree from Kenyon College and his law degree from the Indiana University Robert H. McKinney School of Law.

Cory Martinson, M.D.

Vice-Chair and Secretary

Otto N. Frenzel, IV


Kate Sarlitto

Assistant Secretary

Faraz Abbasi

John Ackerman

Gabriel Alejandro

Amy Balcius

Marta Birge

Mary Boelke

Regina Cross

Casey Crouse

Steve Dawson

John Dillon

Julie Eskenazi

C. Perry Griffith, Jr. Chairman Emeritus

Jana Hageman

Dan Hann

Jerome F. Henry, Jr.

Jay L. Hess, M.D., Ph.D., M.H.S.A.

Janet Holcomb

Robert G. Jones

Rev. Edward A. Malloy, C.S.C.

Laurie Burns McRobbie

Dennis M. Murphy

Jonathan Owens

Joyce Rogers

Marisol Sanchez

Alan L. Schwartz, M.D., Ph.D.

Georgette A. Smith

Mark A. Smith

Michael L. Smith

Kristian Stricklen

Alonzo Weems

Pamela Whitten, Ph.D.

Life Governors

John K. Banks

Robert R. Baxter

Kristin G. Fruehwald

Anton H. George

James T. Morris, Chairman Emeritus

George Rapp, M.D.

Jacqueline Simon

Cindy Simon Skjodt

Gene Tempel, Ed.D

Richard D. Waterfield

Board Of Managers

Melissa January

Catherine Sherwood-Laughlin

Donna Spears

Join Our Team

Looking for a career with purpose? Riley Children’s Foundation team members have the opportunity to transform lives through the work we do every day. We’re regularly looking for new team members who model our values of compassion, trust and innovation.

Get in Touch

Please feel free to contact the Riley Children’s Foundation office at 317.634.4474 or toll-free at 1.877.867.4539. Our office is open Monday through Friday from 8 a.m. – 5 p.m. You can also email your questions to